Outhouse Theatre Co and Seymour Centre present

Ulster American

13 - 29 May 2021

Set in the jungle of post-#MeToo show business, this ferocious comedy brilliantly skewers the hypocrisy of men in power who trumpet their 'wokeness'.

A talented female playwright, an Oscar-winning actor and an ambitious theatre director meet to discuss a play that promises glory for all. But as lines are crossed and the power of Hollywood looms, the love-in threatens to descend into mayhem.

Winner of the top prize, the 'Best of Edinburgh' Award, at Edinburgh Festival Fringe and a hit at Adelaide Festival, Outhouse (John, Gloria, The Flick) present a Sydney premiere from a truly provocative and exciting playwright. Ulster American is confrontational, uncomfortable and brutally funny.

Not for the faint of heart. Not to be missed.

★★★★★ "A satire as timely as it is riotous."
The Guardian

Writer David Ireland
Director Shaun Rennie
Producer Jeremy Waters

We are a registered COVID-Safe business and we're committed to making your Seymour visit as safe and enjoyable as possible.

The theatre will operate at a reduced capacity of 75%, and under current public health regulations, booking groups will be seated directly next to each other, not socially distanced. 

We request all patrons remain in their allocated seats and we strongly recommend that face masks be worn throughout the performance by patrons aged 12 and over, to help ensure a calm and safe experience.

Find out about our other COVID safety measures here.

Reginald Theatre

Thu 13 May 7:30pm
Fri 14 May 7:30pm
Sat 15 May 2pm

Reginald Theatre

Sat 15 May 7:30pm
Tue 18 May 7:30pm
Wed 19 May 7:30pm
Thu 20 May 7:30pm
Fri 21 May 7:30pm
Sat 22 May 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 25 May 7:30pm
Wed 26 May 7:30pm
Thu 27 May 7:30pm
Fri 28 May 7:30pm
Sat 29 May 2pm, 7:30pm

90 minutes (no interval). Partial lockout applies.

Preview $33
Full $49
Senior, Group 8+ $39
Pensioner, Veteran, Full-time Student $35
Under 35 $33

Ulster American is also available to purchase as part of our Seymour Season mini multipack. Click to view pricing and to purchase a multipack

$6 transaction fee applies.

Recommended for ages 16+. Contains coarse language, adult themes, sexual references and physical violence. Photography and filming prohibited.

The only authorised ticket seller for this event is Seymour Centre. If you purchase from an unauthorised seller, you risk that your tickets may be fake or invalid.

More Events