White Box Theatre and Seymour Centre present

Before The Meeting

19 May - 11 Jun 2022

"Phantoms... do not come unbidden into our lives; we invite them, over and over." The New York Times

Every day, Gail and the regular members of her early morning group set up for their meeting in the exact same way: Nicole makes the coffee, Gail arranges the chairs, and Ron complains.

As they forge a path toward sobriety and wellbeing, they come to rely on the routine and each other.

But when Gail’s estranged granddaughter reopens old wounds, Gail knows it will take more than coffee, chairs, and companionship to keep her life from falling apart.

Don't miss Before the Meeting, an extraordinary drama about ordinary lives from acclaimed US playwright, Adam Bock.

 

Image credit: Danielle Lyonne

"This astonishing new play is an instant classic... there was a sense of seeing theatrical history in the making."
Berkshire Fine Arts
"[A] knockout… high-octane naturalism of the most expert…"
The New York Times
Edgerton Foundation New Play Award (2019)
Award Wins

Writer Adam Bock
Director Kim Hardwick
Producer White Box Theatre
Lighting Designer Martin Kinnane
Cast includes Alex Malone

We are a registered COVID-Safe business and this event will have strict COVID-Safe policies in place, guided by public health advice and University of Sydney directives.

At present, this event will be open to 100% seated capacity. Please consider your comfort levels before booking as you may be seated alongside other booking groups.

You can find out more about our safety measures here, and we will also send safety information directly to you prior to your visit. To ensure we can reach you, we recommend checking that your contact information is up to date.

Reginald Theatre

Thu 19 May 7:30pm
Fri 20 May 7:30pm
Sat 21 May 7:30pm
Tue 24 May 7:30pm

Reginald Theatre

Wed 25 May 7:30pm (Not on sale)
Thu 26 May 7:30pm
Fri 27 May 7:30pm
Sat 28 May 7:30pm
Tue 31 May 7:30pm
Wed 1 Jun 7:30pm
Thu 2 Jun 7:30pm
Fri 3 Jun 7:30pm
Sat 4 Jun 7:30pm
Tue 7 Jun 7:30pm
Wed 8 Jun 7:30pm
Thu 9 Jun 7:30pm
Fri 10 Jun 7:30pm
Sat 11 Jun 7:30pm

80 minutes (no interval). Partial lockout applies.

Before the Meeting is currently available to purchase as part of a Seymour Season: Part One mini multipack, alongside three other shows. Buy a multipack to save up to 20% on tickets and enjoy great live performance for less.

Preview $33
Full $49
Concession $35
Student $35
Under 35 $33
Senior, Group 8+ $39

$6 transaction fee applies.

If you are booking with a Dine & Discover voucher, please note that in line with the Dine & Discover T&Cs, only one voucher can be used per transaction. Vouchers can only be redeemed when booking online. Find out more here.

Contains adult themes and haze smoke. Photography and filming prohibited.

The only authorised ticket seller for this event is Seymour Centre. If you purchase from an unauthorised seller, you risk that your tickets may be fake or invalid.

More Events