Outhouse Theatre Co and Seymour Centre present

Ulster American

13 May - 5 Jun 2021

Past Event

Set in the jungle of post-#MeToo show business, this ferocious comedy brilliantly skewers the hypocrisy of men in power who trumpet their 'wokeness'.

A talented female playwright, an Oscar-winning actor and an ambitious theatre director meet to discuss a play that promises glory for all. But as lines are crossed and the power of Hollywood looms, the love-in threatens to descend into mayhem.

Winner of the top prize, the 'Best of Edinburgh' Award, at Edinburgh Festival Fringe and a hit at Adelaide Festival, Outhouse (John, Gloria, The Flick) present a Sydney premiere from a truly provocative and exciting playwright. Ulster American is confrontational, uncomfortable and brutally funny.

Not for the faint of heart. Not to be missed.

★★★★★ "A satire as timely as it is riotous."
The Guardian

Writer David Ireland
Director Shane Anthony
Producer Jeremy Waters
Assistant Director Molly Haddon
Production Consultant Shaun Rennie
Production Manager Craig Baldwin
Set & Lighting Design Veronique Benett
Stage Manager Anastasia Mowen
Costume Design Claudia Kryszkiewicz
Sound Design Mary Rapp
Dialect Coach Linda Nicolls-Gidley
Fight Choreographer Tim Dashwood
Cast Harriet Gordon-Anderson, Brian Meegan, Jeremy Waters

Access the Ulster American program for free and get to know the actors and creatives bringing the show to life at Seymour, plus read a special message from director, Shane Anthony, and producer, Jeremy Waters.

We are a registered COVID-Safe business and we're committed to making your Seymour visit as safe and enjoyable as possible.

In line with eased restrictions, this show will be open to 100% seated capacity. Please consider your comfort levels before booking as you will be seated next to other booking groups.

We request all patrons remain in their allocated seats and we strongly recommend that face masks be worn throughout the performance by patrons over 12, to help ensure a calm and safe experience.

Find out about our other COVID safety measures here.

Reginald Theatre

Thu 13 May 7:30pm
Fri 14 May 7:30pm
Sat 15 May 2pm

Reginald Theatre

Sat 15 May 7:30pm
Tue 18 May 7:30pm
Wed 19 May 7:30pm
Thu 20 May 7:30pm
Fri 21 May 7:30pm
Sat 22 May 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 25 May 7:30pm
Wed 26 May 7:30pm
Thu 27 May 7:30pm
Fri 28 May 7:30pm
Sat 29 May 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 1 Jun 7:30pm
Fri 4 Jun 7:30pm
Sat 5 Jun 2pm, 7:30pm

80 minutes (no interval). Partial lockout applies.

Preview $33
Full $49
Senior, Group 8+ $39
Pensioner, Veteran, Full-time Student $35
Under 35 $33

$6 transaction fee applies.

If you are booking with a Dine & Discover voucher, please note that in line with the Dine & Discover T&Cs, only one voucher can be used per transaction. Find out more about the T&Cs here.

Recommended for ages 16+. Contains coarse language, adult themes, sexual references and references to sexual violence. Photography and filming prohibited.

The only authorised ticket seller for this event is Seymour Centre. If you purchase from an unauthorised seller, you risk that your tickets may be fake or invalid.

More Events