Outhouse Theatre Co and Seymour Centre present

The Flick

by Annie Baker

5 - 28 Apr 2018

★★★★★ “Annie Baker is the most talented American playwright of her generation.”

The Age

In a crumbling Massachusetts movie house, three minimum wage employees perform the humdrum labour necessary to keep one of the last 35 millimetre projectors running. The movies on the big screen are no match for the tiny battles and not-so-tiny heartbreaks that play out in the popcorn-strewn empty aisles.


As they banter, sweep, mop and sweep some more, the trio reveal longing, hopes and a compelling story all their own. With humanity, humour and tenderness, The Flick builds into a heartfelt cry for authentic connection in a fast-changing world.


Annie Baker is one of the most visionary voices of her generation. After their acclaimed production of The Aliens, Outhouse Theatre Co is thrilled to reunite with Annie and director, Craig Baldwin, for the Sydney premiere of a work that has been the talk of New York and London.


“Funny, heartbreaking, sly, and unblinking. The Flick may be the best argument anyone has yet made for the continued necessity, and profound uniqueness, of theatre.” New York Magazine


“Hilarious and ineffably touching… This lovingly observed play will sink deep into your consciousness” New York Times


Winner of 2014 Pulitzer prize for Drama

Winner of 2013 Susan Blackburn Prize

Winner of 2013 Obie Award for Playwriting


★★★★★ “The best American drama I’ve seen.” Crikey
★★★★★ “Baker’s text is a masterpiece.” Herald Sun
★★★★★ “Astonishing… Like no other play in London.” Guardian


This performance contains adult themes and coarse language, haze and projected lights.

Filming and photography not permitted.

Total lockout applies – latecomers will not be admitted to the theatre.


Director Craig Baldwin
Producer Outhouse Theatre Co
Stage Manager Steph Kelly
Set Designer Hugh O’Connor
Lighting Designer Martin Kinnane
Sound Composition & Design Nate Edmondson
Production Manager Felix Johnson
Photographer Marnya Rothe


Rose Mia Lethbridge
Avery Justin Amankwah
Sam Jeremy Waters
Skylar/Dreaming Man Matt Cheetham