White Box Theatre and Seymour Centre present

The Campaign

by Campion Decent

11 - 28 Feb 2020

"I was arrested for being gay before I'd even danced with another man." Rodney Croome

In 1988 more than one hundred arrests were made at Salamanca Market, when the Tasmanian Gay Law Reform Group defied a ban on a stall that featured petitions to decriminalise sexual activity between consenting adult males in private.

The arrests lit the spark for a campaign to change the Tasmanian law, which was the most draconian in the Western world in terms of its penalty and, by the time of its repeal, the last of its kind in Australia.

From candid interviews with the people who were there, Campion Decent has fashioned a gripping account of Tasmania's decades-long gay law reform campaign. 

The Campaign traces the venomous parliamentary debates and public meetings, the individual acts of bravery and humour amidst the hurt, and the dogged march to a landmark United Nations ruling that had far-reaching repercussions in the Federal and Tasmanian Parliaments and the High Court of Australia.

Honest, raw and urgent, The Campaign won Best New Writing at the 2019 Tasmanian Theatre Awards, and chronicles a community's journey from exclusion to inclusion, from opposition to acceptance, and from hatred to embrace.

The Campaign is part of the 2020 Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Festival.

Originally commissioned by Tasmanian Theatre Company.

Image credit: Roger Lovell

★★★★ "A brilliant piece of intimate and simultaneously joyful and gut-wrenching theatre."
ArtsHub

Following the 7pm performance on Saturday 15 February, join playwright, Campion Decent, director, Kim Hardwick, and original campaign activist, Lee-Gwen Booth, to discuss the events detailed in The Campaign and the process of making the play.

Image shows Tasmanian gay law reform supporter, Lee-Gwen Booth, being arrested at Salamanca Market in 1988. Credit Roger Lovell and The Mercury, 1988.

Reflecting on the legacy of Tasmania’s protracted battle to decriminalise homosexuality, leading activist in that campaign, Rodney Croome AM, will be joined by Julie McCrossin AM, the Hon. Michael Kirby AC CMG and Anna Brown OAM to discuss contemporary and future battlegrounds, as well as the role played by personal storytelling, strategic risk-taking and compromise in achieving significant and meaningful social and legal change.

Images show Julie McCrossin AM taking part in gay rights demonstrations.

Find out more and buy tickets here

Tim McGarry
Simon Croker
Mathew Lee
Madeline MacRae
Jane Phegan

Director Kim Hardwick
Production Designer Martin Kinnane
Sound Designer and Composer Patrick Howard

Reginald Theatre

Tue 11 Feb 7pm
Wed 12 Feb 7pm

Reginald Theatre

Thu 13 Feb 7pm
Fri 14 Feb 7pm
Sat 15 Feb 7pm
Sun 16 Feb 5pm
Tue 18 Feb 7pm
Wed 19 Feb 7pm
Thu 20 Feb 7pm
Fri 21 Feb 7pm
Sat 22 Feb 7pm
Sun 23 Feb 5pm
Tue 25 Feb 7pm
Wed 26 Feb 7pm
Thu 27 Feb 7pm
Fri 28 Feb 7pm

90 mins (no interval). Lockouts apply.

Previews $30
Full $45
Senior $40
Concession $35
Under 30, Industry $30
Mardi Gras Member $35

Multipack prices here.

$6 transaction fee applies.

Contains adult themes, haze, smoke, and strobe lighting. Photography and filming prohibited.

More Events