Outhouse Theatre Co and Seymour Centre present

Appropriate

by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins

23 Jul - 8 Aug 2020

"So I thought, since we can't do Europe this summer, why don't the kids and I just do a little Southern History road trip? We're going to drive back home through Mississippi, Louisiana—all those places—experience some of Daddy's heritage."

After the success of 2019's Gloria, Outhouse Theatre Co reunites with Branden Jacobs-Jenkins for his explosively hilarious take on the great American family drama.

The Lafayette family gather at their late father's home in Arkansas to bury the hatchet and prepare the former plantation for its Estate Sale.

Until they make a discovery that changes everything.

Winner of the Obie Award for Best New American Play, this wickedly subversive tour de force lays bare a dark and terrible history corroding the soul of a family—and a nation.

Craig Baldwin (JohnThe Flick) directs the Australian premiere of Appropriate.

"A stunning act of theatrical subversion… ingenious." The Stage

"Bracingly clever… as twisted and pointed as a corkscrew." WhatsOnStage

"An audacious, vividly atmospheric tour de force." Evening Standard

"Subversively original… a remarkable and devious play." The New York Times

★★★★ "A bitingly funny family drama—and a shrewd analysis of the state of the nation."
Financial Times

Director Craig Baldwin
Producer Jeremy Waters

Reginald Theatre

Thu 23 Jul 7:30pm
Fri 24 Jul 7:30pm
Sat 25 Jul 2pm, 7:30pm

Reginald Theatre

Tue 28 Jul 7:30pm
Wed 29 Jul 7:30pm
Thu 30 Jul 7:30pm
Fri 31 Jul 7:30pm
Sat 1 Aug 2pm, 7:30pm
Tue 4 Aug 7:30pm
Wed 5 Aug 7:30pm
Thu 6 Aug 7:30pm
Fri 7 Aug 7:30pm
Sat 8 Aug 2pm, 7:30pm

140 mins (including interval). Lockouts apply.

Previews $30
Full $45
Senior $40
Pensioner $35
Full time student $35
Under 30 $30
MEAA Member $30

Multipack prices here.

$6 transaction fee applies.

For ages 16+. Contains adult themes, coarse language, violence and sexual references. Photography and filming prohibited.

More Events